Dallas DANCE 2012 Recap Part 2 (Michelle)

team flamboyant

I think the theme of the weekend, at least for me, was all about teamwork and friendships.  Anyone who has worked on a routine, knows that it’s equal parts stress and fun and hard work and (hopefully) reward.

You put that in a team format and everything is just magnified, because now its’ not just you and one other person, it’s you and how ever many people are on your team.  We are all working towards the goals, but you have to get through different learning styles, different dancing styles, different work styles to get it all together to look like one cohesive unit.  I am so proud of our team to work so quickly and so hard to get this routine put together.  Our first time all together as a team to practice was Friday night at Dallas DANCE!  We hope that everyone could feel the FUN in the routine – our biggest goal was just to entertain the crowd Sunday night and I think we achieved that goal!  In fact, that was the best, most energetic team division in a long time and we were very happy to be a part of it!  The fact that we won was really icing on the cake!  The best part though of being on the team, was being able to rekindle old friendships and start new ones.  The last team Trent and I were on, even though that was 5 years ago, we came away from that with some of the closest friendships  we still have today.

This was also my first year to not work my vendor booth, I think in about 5 years.  It was just time to just be a dancer and to enjoy myself.  It was funny though – I realized that I actually got to see more people when I had my booth, but even though I saw fewer people, it was great to be able to just hang out and relax with the ones that I did see. I didn’t dance nearly as much as I though I would, even though I was up until at least 4am every night – there were just so many shenanigans!  I felt like the toddler who doesn’t want to go to sleep cuz I might miss something.  🙂

I want to thank Scott Mehlberg, my crazy cool SS partner from Chicago!  Thank you for asking me to dance with you – I had an absolute BLAST.  This time it was 1st alternate in a really competitive field and I am extremely proud of how close we came.  Next time, we’ll take it down!

One last note: I want to congratulate Trent again for the amazing dance in his All Star J&J final and for his 1st place win!  Those of you who got to see the dance live, know what I am talking about.  He was SO nervous before the finals since it was his first time making it in All Stars.  And it was his night.  He got the perfect partner to the perfect song.  Shoutout to his partner, Blandine Iche, GORGEOUS dancer from France, who killed it with him!

And now back to work, to day dream about dance!

Michelle

Leave a Reply

